Constitution the Oregon Section,
American Association of Physics Teachers


I. Objectives


  • The objectives of this Section are the advancement of the teaching of physics and the furtherance of appreciation of the role of physics in our culture, including, for such purposes, the making of distributions to organizations that qualify as exempt organizations under section 501 (c) (3)  of the Internal Revenue Code, or corresponding section of  any future federal tax code.


II. Membership


  • The membership consists of residents of the region who are teachers of physics in colleges, universities or high schools.  In addition there may be accepted as student members junior college, college and university students who have a major interest in physics and who have completed at least two one-year college physics courses or the equivalent, and who reside or are enrolled in the region.  Also, other persons who are interested in promoting the objectives of the organization may be designated members.


III. Officers


  • The officers of the Oregon Section are the President, VP for Pre-College Physics, VP for College Physics, the Secretary, the Treasurer, the Historian, the Section Representative, and the representative to the Pacific Northwest Association of College Physics (PNACP).  Only the Section Representative need be a member of the national AAPT organization.


  • The responsibilities of the officers are the following:


  • President

  1. Presides at Section meetings

  2. Directs and coordinates year’s activities

  3. Sets the theme and program for the Section meetings in consultation with the other officers.

  4. Appoints the nominating committee (see IV) and other special committees.


  • Vice President for Pre-College Physics

  1.       Represents the interests of teachers of physics in public and private secondary schools.

  2.       Maintains an updated list of high school physics faculty in the state.


  • Vice President for College Physics

  1. Represents the interests of teachers of physics in the colleges

  2. Maintains an updated list of college physics faculty in the state.


  • Secretary

  1. Oversees the mailing of the call-for-papers and the programs for Section Meetings.

  2. Keeps the mailing list up to date.

  3. Handles Section correspondence.


  •  Treasurer

  1.     Assists the Secretary with registration at Section Meetings

  2.     Maintains the funds of the Section.

  3.     Disburses the funds of the Section as directed by the President.


  • Historian

  1. Keeps a complete file of all past programs.

  2. Advises on traditions and Section history.


  • Section Representative

  1.  Represents the Section at the meetings of the AAPT Council held at the bi-annual meetings of the national AAPT.

  2. Reports on Section meetings and on election results to the national AAPT.

  3. Reports on national AAPT meetings to the Section.


  • PNACP Representative

  1.     Attends PNACP meetings and reports back to the Section.


IV.       Nomination and Election of Officers

  • Each year the President shall appoint a nominating committee consisting of not less than three members of the Oregon Section at least one month prior to the Spring Meeting.  Requests for suggested nominees are to be solicited with the announcements of the Spring Meeting.  Nominations may also be made from the floor.


  • Election of officers is by majority vote of [1]the members present and voting at the Spring Meeting.


  • The term of office of the Section Representative is three years.  In the event of the official representative being unable to attend the annual meeting of the national Council of the AAPT, the Executive Committee (see V.) shall appoint an alternate.

  • All officers, except the Section Representative, serve two-year terms but they may be elected for a succeeding term, and the Historian may be elected for several succeeding terms.

  • A vacancy in the office of  President shall be automatically filled by the Secretary.  A vacancy in the office of Secretary, or other officers, shall be filled by appointment of the Executive Committee (See V.).


V.  Committees


  • The President shall convene an Executive Committee consisting of the President, the Secretary, the VPs, the Treasurer, the Section Representative, and the immediate past President, when necessary.


  • The President may appoint ad hoc committees when deemed necessary.



VI. Meetings


  1. There shall be 2 meetings annually; the Fall Meeting on the 3rd Saturday in Oct., and the Spring Meeting on the 2nd Saturday in March  (1st Sat. if 2nd Sat. occurs during spring break).


   2.   A Program Co-Chairman may be appointed by the President and will customarily

  • A representative from the host department.

  • Either the Vice President for Pre-College Physics or the Vice President for College Physics.


VII. Adoption and Amendment


  • Adoption or amendment of this constitution shall take place by two-thirds of the voting members who so approve at a regular Fall or Spring Meeting of the Section that is noticed for this purpose.

VIII. Remuneration of Members


  • No member of the Section shall receive any remuneration from Section funds, except for the reimbursement of expenses incurred on Section business.


IX. Dissolution of the Section


  • Upon a vote of 2/3 of the members present and voting at a regular Section meeting, the Section may be dissolved.

  • If the Section is dissolved, the President shall notify the national AAPT, an Organization qualified under section (501) (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code, and shall transmit the balance of Section funds to the national AAPT.


X. Limitations on Activities


  • No substantial part of the activities of the Section shall be the carrying on of propaganda, or otherwise attempting to influence legislation, and the Section shall not participate in, or intervene in (including the publishing or distribution of statements) any political campaign on behalf of  any candidate for public office.  Notwithstanding any other provision of this document, the Section shall not carry on any other activities not permitted to be carried on (a) by an organization exempt from federal income tax under section 501 (c) (3)  of the Internal Revenue Code, or corresponding section of any future  federal tax code, or (b) by an organization, contributions to which are deductible under section 170 (c) (2) of the Internal Revenue Code, or corresponding section of any future federal tax code.





Adopted October 16th, 2010